Magdalena Frey on Susanne Wenger

by Wolfgang Denk

 

"I was born," said Susanne Wenger, 1984 in her Atelier on Ibokun Road in Oshogbo, in the heart of Yoruba land in Nigeria, where she has been living for the last fifty years, " in Graz, in the Nernstgasse, then rural and suburban, in 1915. It was in a villa with a garden in which stood a group of monumental fir trees, gloriously red in the morning sun. Squirrels, the inhabitants of these trees, moved swiftly through the branches of the old conifers, from tip to tip. Those firs and a mighty linden tree," says Susanne Wenger, "were my first university. Every afternoon my cradle stood under the canopy of the immense linden. I could hardly percieve the rest of the world around me, but above me the multifold interwoven diagrams formed by the branches of the ancient tree unfolded in the changing back light – a memory and at the same time projected into the future, that is, to now, the motifs, veined like arteries, of the coordinates in my textile batik work, my painting and also the sculptures in the "Sacred Groves Oshogbo". Huge sculptures and architectures that formally began to appear already in her work in Vienna and Graz in 1947.

Susanne Wenger: "My projects are perhaps ... tiny leaves on the tree of life – dedicated to logos – which is the sacred centre of the universe and the source of all life."

Susanne Wenger also played an important role in the liberation of Nigeria from colonial rule and particularly in conserving the traditional Yoruba religion. She is highly esteemed in Africa for her dedication. The fight to conserve the giant trees of the rainforest and the religious tradition of the Yoruba was difficult and is difficult to win. Susanne Wenger was initiated as an Olorisha from 1950-1956 by one of the last old high priests of the Yoruba religions, the Ajagemo of Ede. Olorishas are initiated priests and mytho-poets in the Yoruba Orisha religions.

Thanks to her activities she was and is in friendly contact with many leading African intellectuals and artists such as the literature nobel laureate of 1986, Wole Soyinka, or the Jazz musician and provocateur Fela Kuti.

Her work was classified as degenerate in the Third Reich. In Africa, she becomes the world-wise artist of an immense Gesamtkunstwerk, which, just as in the dramatic times in Austria, has always stood in opposition to the normality of what was established.

Although Susanne Wenger left Graz "for always" as a "degenerate" after 1940 at the very last moment – friends in the resistence movement were brutally massacred by the Nazis – in her heart, she says, she has "never really left Styria."

Magdalena Frey also comes from the capital of Styria, Graz. As she was born almost fifty years and one world war later than Susanne Wenger, biographical common ground could lead to parallel life myths only via subconscious conceptual gates.

In any case, Magdalena Frey was in my travel group when we went to visit the grand traditional celebrations on the occasion of Adunni Olorisha Susanne Wenger's ninetieth birthday at the palace of King Ataoja of Oshogbo.

Not only did Magdalena Frey treat one of the highest initiated priests and famous "doctor" of "native medicine" of the Yoruba culture group, Chiefpriest Shangodare Gabdegesin Ajala, the adoptive son of Susanne Wenger, with healing massages, she also did what she has long been known for, she made photographs.

Intuition and imagination, keen observation, sensitive "meditation into" and artistic curiosity are Magdalena Frey's tools which she uses to make certain phenomena visible, often focussing on women's fates. Magdalena Frey's conviction of a "mythical" connection of all phenomena in life allows her to find dynamic energy fields in her computer generated image combinations in the Susanne Wenger cycle, interpretationally merging her and Susanne Wenger's living cosmos in a very individual way.

Magdalena Frey took the normality and secrets of Susanne Wenger's art, her obsession for the culture of the Yoruba and for the holy river Oshun through a process of illumination, exposure and examination without banalising and thus destroying the secrets by revealing them. The contrast between the exotic parallel worlds and the "true existence" of the european contemporary artist is, so to speak, made liquid by Magdalena Frey's Susanne Wenger cycle.

(Translated from German by Ann Cotten)

Magdalena Frey über Susanne Wenger

von Wolfgang Denk

 

„Ich wurde“, erzählte Susanne Wenger 1984 in ihrem Atelier in der Ibokun Road, in Oshogbo, im Zentrum des Yoruba-Landes in Nigeria, wo sie seit fünfzig Jahren lebt, „in der damals noch ländlich-vorstädtischen Grazer Nernstgasse 1915 geboren. Es war in einer Villa mit einem Garten, wo eine Gruppe monumentaler Fichten stand, prächtig rot in der Morgensonne. Eichhörnchen, die Bewohner dieser Bäume, bewegten sich rasch durch Zweige der alten Nadelbäume, von Spitze zu Spitze. Diese Fichten und eine mächtige Linde waren“, sagt Susanne Wenger, „meine ersten Universitäten. Meine Wiege stand jeden Nachmittag unter dem Baldachin des riesigen Laubbaumes. Die übrige Welt um mich herum konnte ich kaum wahrnehmen, aber über mir entfalteten sich die vielfach verwobenen Diagramme der Äste des alten Baumes im wechselndem Gegenlicht – Erinnerungen und gleichzeitig in die Zukunft also in die Gegenwart fokussiert, die arterienähnlich geäderten Motive der Koordinaten meiner Textil-Batikarbeiten, meiner Malerei und auch der Skulpturen in den "Sacred Groves Oshogbo“. Gewaltige Skulpturen und Architekturen die sich formal schon in Wien und Graz 1947 in ihrer Malerei ankündigten.

Susanne Wenger: “Meine Projekte sind vielleicht ... winzige Blätter am Baum des Lebens - dem Logos geweiht - der das sakrale Zentrum des Universums und die Quelle allen Lebens ist."

Eine wichtige Rolle hat Susanne Wenger auch bei der Befreiung Nigerias aus der Kolonialherrschaft und vor allem bei der Erhaltung der traditionellen Yoruba-Religion eingenommen. Für dieses Engagement wird Susanne Wenger in Afrika hoch geschätzt. Der Kampf für die Erhaltung der Regenwald-Baumriesen und der religiösen Tradition der Yoruba war schwierig und ist auch schwer zu gewinnen. Susanne Wenger wurde zwischen 1950-1956 von einem der letzten alten Hohepriester der Yoruba Religionen dem Ajagemo von Ede zur Olorisha initiiert. Olorisha sind Initiierte, Priester und Priesterinnen und Mytho-Poeten der Yoruba-Orisha-Religionen.

Durch ihre Aktivitäten war und ist sie auch mit vielen führenden afrikanischen Intellektuellen und Künstlern wie dem Literaturnobelpreisträger von 1986, Wole Soyinka, oder dem Jazzmusiker und Provokateur Fela Kuti in freundschaftlichem Kontakt.

Ihr Werk galt im Tausendjährigen Reich als entartet. In Afrika wird sie zur weltweisen Künstlerin eines riesigen Gesamtkunstwerkes, die so wie in den dramatischen Zeiten in Österreich immer auch im Widerstand zu der Normalität des Etablierten stand.

Obzwar Susanne Wenger Graz als „Entartete“ nach 1940 im letzten Augenblick „für immer“ den Rücken kehrte, Freunde aus dem Widerstand wurden von den Nazis brutal massakriert, hat sie im Herzen, sagt sie „die Steiermark gar nie wirklich verlassen.“

Magdalena Frey kommt ebenfalls aus der Hauptstadt der Steiermark aus Graz. Fast fünfzig Jahre und einen Weltkrieg später als Susanne Wenger geboren, könnten biographische Gemeinsamkeiten nur über unterbewusste Konzeptoren zu parallelem Lebensmythen führen.

Jedenfalls befand sich Magdalena Frey in meiner Reisegruppe, die zu den großen traditionellen Feierlichkeiten aus Anlass des neunzigsten Geburtstages von Adunni Olorisha Susanne Wenger im Palast des Königs Ataoja von Oshogbo fuhr.

Magdalena Frey behandelte nicht nur einen der höchst initiieren Priester und berühmten „Doctor“ der „Native Medicine“ des Yoruba Kulturkreises Chiefpriest Shangodare Gabdegesin Ajala , den Adoptivsohn Susanne Wengers, mit Heilmassagen, sondern sie tat das wofür sie seit langem bekannt ist, sie fotographierte.

Intuition und Phantasie, scharfe Beobachtungsgabe, sensibles „hineinmeditieren“ und künstlerische Neugier sind Magdalena Freys Werkzeuge um bestimmte Phänomene sichtbar zu machen, die sehr häufig Frauenschicksale fokussieren. Magdalena Freys Überzeugung von einer „mythischen“ Verbundenheit aller Phänomene des Lebens lässt sie auch in ihren computergenerierten Bildkombinationen des Susanne Wenger Zyklus dynamische Energiefelder finden, die ihre und Susanne Wengers Lebenskosmos auf eine sehr individuelle Weise interpretatorisch verschmelzen.

Normalität und Geheimnisse der Kunst Susanne Wengers, ihrer Obsession für die Kultur der Yoruba und für den heiligen Fluss Oshun hat Magdalena Frey mit ihrer Kamera beleuchtet, belichtet und durchleuchtet, ohne die Geheimnisse durch Preisgabe zu banalisieren und damit zu zerstören. Der Gegensatz der exotischen Parallelwelten und der „wahren Existenz“ der europäischen zeitgenössischen Künstlerin wird durch den Susanne Wenger Zyklus von Magdalena Frey sozusagen verflüssigt.